Skip to content

Mayors, council members qualify


NICOLE NORRIS | The Greenville Standard

Last Tuesday qualifying began for municipal elections; qualifying ends on July 19. Elections for mayor and city council will be held on Aug. 23.

All polls will open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.

So far the candidates to qualify in Greenville are incumbents. They are: Dexter McLendon for mayor; Bryan Reynolds for City Council District 1; Ed Sims for City Council District 2; Tommy Ryan for City Council District 3; Jimmy Lawson for City Council District 4; and Jeddo Bell for City Council District 5. Currently all candidates are running unopposed.

Qualifying fee for mayor and city council is $50.

Greenville polling locations are: District 1, Greenville Police Department, 125 Administrative Drive; District 2, Greenville City Hall, 119 E. Commerce Street; District 3, Butler County Health Department, 350 Airport Road; District 4, Beeland Park Recreation Center, 1018 E. Commerce Street and District 5, Dunbar Community Center, 208 School Highland Road.

Jerome Antone and Mike Middleton have thrown their hats in the ring for mayor of Georgiana, along with Johnny Colvin for City Council District 5. The city clerk is awaiting verification from the Ethics Commission that the necessary paperwork has been filed before the candidates can officially be announced as qualified.

Qualifying fee for mayor and city council is $25.

Georgiana polling locations are: District 1, Log Cabin at Hank Williams Museum, 127 Rose St.; District 2, R.L. Austin School, 387 Palmer Ave. N.; District 3, Senior Center, 306 Palmer Ave. S.; District 4, Municipal Complex, 933 US Hwy. 31 S.; and District 5, Community House, 131 Jones St. W.

As of press deadline there are no qualifying candidates in McKenzie.

However, qualifying fee for mayor is $50 and city council is $25.

Polling locations are: District 1, McKenzie Community Center, 250 Wise Rd. and District 2, Old Town Hall, 118 Main St.

According to AlabamaVotes.Gov a candidate must reside in the city for 90 days prior to election.


Leave a Comment